The Mediator Standards Board’s Annual Research Grant for 2022 is now open for applications.

Untitled design.jpg

As Australia’s peak body for accredited mediators, the MSB is dedicated to complementing and supporting its member organisations in their efforts to implement the National Mediator Accreditation System (NMAS), as well as provide for the continuous development of the system itself.

Open to the broader alternative dispute resolution community, including universities and research institutes as well as Recognised Mediator Accreditation Bodies (RMABs) and other MSB members – the Grant will provide funding of up to $50,000 and is intended to promote research projects that encourage progressive development in the training and accreditation of mediators, and quality mediation services across Australia.

Peter Condliffe, MSB board member and chair of the MSB’s research sub-committee noted, “The Annual Research Grant is very much focused on supporting research that will help us proactively consider key issues presently developing in the dispute management field”.

Previous recipient, Dr Lola Akin Ojelabi, Professor and Head of Department (Law) at RMIT Graduate School of Business and Law, noted the significance of the MSB Grant funding, “There is such limited research on what goes on within a mediation, and what mediators do. It's incredibly important to have industry organisations who support research in the field.”

To date, Dr Akin Ojelabi and her co-researcher Dr Alysoun Boyle’s research on reality testing in mediation has resulted in significant preliminary results relating to diversity of accredited mediators and their practice.

Mr Condliffe, notes that “ultimately, we hope that the Grant and the research it funds will contribute to training new mediators, and provide existing NMAS accredited mediators with new ideas and resources."

Applicants are able to submit until 15 July, 2022. Grant Guidelines can be found at - Request for Tender or this PDF LINK

ABOUT Mediator Standards Board is the peak body for Accredited Mediators in Australia and is responsible

for the ongoing development and maintenance of the National Mediator Accreditation System (NMAS) introduced in 2008. Website>

MEDIA QUERIES MSB National Chairperson, Mr Christopher Boyle and Board Member Peter Condliffe are available for comment – contact Jenny Watson [email protected] or 03 9005 1903

Release date: 22 Jun, 2022