Recognised Mediator Accreditation Body

There are many recognised mediator accreditation bodies (RMABs) and they are required to have certain characteristics in order to achieve and maintain their status.

A RMAB can be a professional body, a mediation agency or Centre, a Court or Tribunal, or some other entity.

Becoming a RMAB

Excerpt from the National Mediator Accreditation System (Part IV)

A RMAB must have:
  1. financial membership of the MSB;
  2. the capacity and expertise to assess whether training, education, assessment and CPD undertaken by applicants for accreditation or renewal of accreditation meet the respective requirements specified in the Approval  Standards;
  3. the ability to provide or refer members to CPD activities as outlined in Section 3.5 of the Approval Standards;
  4. a complaints system that meets the Benchmarks for Industry-based Customer Dispute Resolution Schemes, or the ability to refer a complaint to a scheme that has been established by statute;
  5. sound governance structures, financial viability and appropriate administrative resources;
  6. sound record-keeping in respect of mediators accredited under the NMAS; and
  7. at least 10 mediators accredited under the NMAS who are bona fide members, panellists or employees

To submit an application to be a financial member of the Mediator Standards Board, please complete application to become RMAB.

MSB Membership

MSB membership is open to a range of organisations including Registered Mediator Accreditation Bodies, education and training providers, professional membership or service organisations, community or state based mediation services, government agencies and consumer organisations.